Gluten Free Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies

I’ve heard that some people cut gluten from their diet in order to lose weight. I don’t know how that works for them, when recipes for things like gluten free caramel chocolate chunk blondies exist.

Lace and Lemons - GF Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies

My mom bought me a spiffy little cookbook that has a nice variety of GF recipes for everything from breakfast to desserts – so naturally I went for the desserts first. Baking is the scary part of eating low-gluten or gluten-free. Even if you’re a big pasta eater, you can find some reasonably priced pastas in most grocery stores. But cookies? Yikes. No one likes paying $6 for a box of mediocre cookies.

While the initial purchase of the components for an all-purpose GF flour mix will set you back more than $6, in the long run BIY (bake it yourself) is the more cost-effective approach, I’ve found. And these cookies are far from mediocre.

Gluten Free Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies (based on PIL cookbooks):

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free all purpose flour blend (I used a mix of equal parts white rice flour, sorghum flour, tapioca flour and cornstarch. I wanted to add almond flour, too, but good grief that’s pricey.)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 12-oz bag chocolate chips (the recipe called for 1 1/2 cups and now I have a lonely handful of chocolate chips left in the bag)
  • 1/3 cup caramel ice cream topping

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prep a 9×13 pan with cooking spray.  Combine the first four ingredients in a medium bowl and set aside. In a large bowl, beat the sugars and butter until smooth. Add the eggs and vanilla and blend well. Add the flour mixture a little bit at a time until well blended, and then stir in the chocolate chips by hand.

Spread the dough into your prepared pan. At this point I was having serious doubts about this filling a 9×13 pan, but the dough did spread out just enough. Drizzle the caramel topping on top of the dough. I had caramel dip left over from the weekend, and it’s slightly thicker than the ice cream topping, so it was not a very pretty endeavor. I had to drop it on the dough and then swirl it with a knife. I also didn’t measure it, I just guessed.

Lace and Lemons - GF Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies Lace and Lemons - GF Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies Lace and Lemons - GF Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies

The original recipe says to bake the bars for 25  minutes. At the 25 minute mark, my cookies were still soup in the middle (possibly from the caramel?) , so I left it in another 10 minutes, until the center was set and the dough was golden.

Lace and Lemons - GF Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies

My caramel choice made these bars a little chewy, but you won’t hear me complaining – because I’m too busy stuffing my face with cookies.

Lace and Lemons - GF Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies

I’m a fan of end pieces, obvs.

The dough for this was really good. I plan to try some variations, such as:

  • just chocolate chips (no caramel)
  • dried fruit (cranberries!)
  • peanut butter topping
  • chocolate chips and marshmallows
  • white chocolate chunks

Oh my gosh I’m hungry now.

Bonus: I did make a batch with just chocolate chips. They’re also excellent:

Lace and Lemons - GF Caramel Chocolate Chunk Blondies

Leave a Reply

