Can I just say, I love October

Hey yinz! I hope you’re enjoying October. We’ve seen some really beautiful trees already. It’s been a busy month, too!  Nick and I got to celebrate the wedding of two wonderful people. The next day I made it to homecoming to catch up with the college crowd.  I’m still tired from the weekend. Soooo I haven’t done much craft or cooking/baking-wise, but I did want to share pictures from last week’s cake decorating class.

We learned how to make drop flowers, leaves, and basket weave.  My hand was ready to fall off by the end of class, but I’m sure I’ll get better at these icing techniques with some practice.  Disclaimer: the flowers were a very vibrant pink in the lighting at class. When I brought the cake home, in the yellowish light we have in our kitchen (ick), they looked almost gray.

October is my favorite. I went on a mad pumpkin-cooking spree early last week (the cake below is a pumpkin cake with cream cheese filling).  I’ll tell you more about that soon, and I plan to share a recipe for pumpkin fritters, and perhaps one for a roasted pumpkin! 

~Amy

Leave a Reply

