Pinteresting

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that there are probably a bunch of you out there who are like me – you have a Pinterest account and boards full of hundreds of brilliant, life-changing and creative ideas that you still haven’t tried.

But you feel a bit better having pinned it – you can always fall back on it later. If you remember. Or you’ll just keep browsing through “Everything” or “DIY & Crafts” and keep piling up new ideas to never use.

I recently made a conscious effort to try out some tips I found on Pinterest, and I’m sharing the results with you!

I used a new recipe for a pasta salad I brought to a picnic a few weeks ago. The pasta salad turned out totally meh – not an all-out failure, just completely bland and unimpressive. I’m not sure what it needed. But, for the hard boiled eggs (which I’ve never had luck with. And those should be really easy) I opted for the all-over-Pinterest hot tip of baking the eggs instead of boiling them. “It’s so easy!” Pinterest says. “The yolks will be beautifully yellow with no gray ring!”

We shall see!  I placed two eggs in a mini muffin pan and baked them for half an hour at 350 degrees, then stopped the cooking process by submerging them in ice cold water.

My frustration with eggs is that you can’t see what they’re doing when they’re in the shell, and once you’ve cracked the shell there’s no turning back.

These needed to be peeled and cut up for the pasta salad, like so:

Two downfalls: A burn mark from where the egg was resting against the muffin pan, and some weird dents from who knows what. Maybe those were just the egg’s fault. The splits in the egg white were most likely due to my impatient peeling technique.

Scorched and split

But those yolks are beautiful!

I’ll try this again sometime, maybe at 325 degrees, or for just 25 minutes instead of 30. Every oven is different, and apartment ovens have their own special quirks. Deviled eggs are a staple at family dinners for us, so I hope to find that magic temperature/time combination.

The other Pinterest tip is completely unrelated to food: removing Shellac manicures at home. You’ve already spent $40+ having the stuff put on, so who wants to spend $10 or more to have it removed? Not me. I got a beautiful shellac french manicure for the wedding (in May) and had remnants of it on my nails for an embarrassingly long time (we’re talking months, and I pick at nail polish). Thankfully it was nail-toned and not black or red and looking like bruises or blood, but it still looked sloppy and made my nails look like they were mutated.

Shellac manicure two months later.

I had removed shellac once before by soaking my fingernails in nail polish remover in a little glass cup for 10 minutes. It worked, but I didn’t like soaking the whole tip of my finger in that stuff, and I have a hard time sitting still for 10 minutes at a time. Pinterest’s solution: soak a cotton ball in nail polish remover. Place it on your fingernail and wrap the whole deal in aluminum foil.

Go about your business as best you can with a foil-wrapped hand, and ten minutes later scrape off the shellac.

You should probably use a Popsicle stick or something other than your fingernail to do this

I tried one nail first and found a whole cotton ball to be excessive. For the remaining nails I split the cotton balls in half, and wrapped one hand at a time – only because I couldn’t manage to wrap the other hand while one was covered in foil.

It worked wonderfully, but I’ll follow up with this: if you do this, you should treat your nails kindly and coat them with nail strengthener. My nails were brittle for a while after I removed the shellac.

Any other Pinners out there? What great ideas from your boards have you actually tried? Did they work?

3 responses

Leave a Reply

