Simple and Sweet

A big thank you to my sister, Lara, for sharing her German Chocolate Cake with us this week!  I got to sample the cake myself and it is delicious.

Today I’m going to continue with the chocolate and family recipe themes.

When my sister and I were little, instead of a cake, often our mom would make cheesecakes for us for our birthdays. I remember one cheesecake that my sister decorated – Mom had reserved some of the filling from her no-bake cheesecake and mixed in food coloring in small bowls for Lara to decorate the cake with. It probably didn’t look very appetizing to the grownups, all covered in purple and green, but we loved it!


I also distinctly remember one birthday having, by my special request, a chocolate cheesecake covered in chocolate chips. I was thinking about that recently and asked my mom if she had the recipe.To my horror, she had no idea what I was talking about! I asked Lara if she remembered it, but she had no recollection of it either. Was I just crazy?

Just when I was beginning to believe I had completely imagined that whole birthday, I got an email from my mom with the recipe!

I kind of want to make one for every person I know (partially just to prove I wasn’t crazy!). For those of you who don’t want to wait around for me to do that, I’ll share with you how to make a chocolate cheesecake yourself!

No-Bake Chocolate Cheesecake (The cheesecake is ‘no-bake’. The crust, clearly, is not, but it just takes 8 minutes so do it anyway. Crust recipe adapted from Better Homes & Gardens crumb crust. Cheesecake recipe from my mom!)

For the crust, you can purchase a pre-made chocolate crumb crust. Or you can thoroughly bust up 12-16 chocolate sandwich cookies (depending on your pie pan and cookie size), mix them with about 1/4 cup softened butter, press them well into a glass pie dish, and bake it for 8 minutes at 375 degrees. I used 16 cookies (slightly bigger than Oreos) and a 10 inch pie plate, and should have spread the crust a bit thinner.

If you go this route (which you totally should), make sure you do it early enough to let the crust cool before you fill it. I had to put it in the freezer for a bit.

For the cheesecake, you’ll need:

  • 1 crumb crust
  • 8 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 8 oz package of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 8 oz tub of cool whip, thawed (Or more if you want some as a garnish)
  • Filling: 1 cup of chopped cookies, candy, nuts, mini marshmallows, chocolate chips, or whatever you want in the middle. Or nothing at all, it’s up t you.

Over low heat or in the microwave, stir the chocolate chips and water together until melted. Let it cool.

Beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth, then add the melted chocolate.

Try not to eat this straight out of the bowl yet

Gently fold in the cool whip.

Spoon half of the mixture into the crust and sprinkle your filling of choice over it.

Then spread the remaining chocolate mixture over the filling and smooth it out a bit. Chill for at least 3 hours.

Mine didn’t turn out as pretty as I remember mom’s cheesecakes looking, but it tasted every bit as good as I remembered!

I could eat this every day!

3 responses

    • I mean my purple and green one. I obviously don’t remember the chocolate one (how is this possible? because the one you made was really stinkin good!)

Leave a Reply

