Everything’s Better with Peanut Butter

If you tuned in yesterday, you may have caught on that I’m in a cool-off-with-a-summery-treat kind of mood. I blame Leopold’s, I’ve been thinking about ice cream ever since our trip. And somewhere in those ice cream musings, I decided that my ice cream cone needed an upgrade: peanut butter.

But here’s the thing – I didn’t want to just slather peanut butter inside a regular ol’ ice cream cone. I wanted the cone to be infused with the flavor of peanut butter (I can be so demanding sometimes). Naturally I didn’t see anything to fit this bill at my small-town grocery store, so I searched around for a recipe to make them myself.

But I didn’t find one. I found plenty of recipes for regular cones, and even more ‘recipes’ telling me how to scoop pre-made ice cream into pre-made cones, but nothing for cones baked with peanut butter in them. Luckily, I had heard some more health-conscientious friends mention that you can often substitute peanut butter for butter in recipes. So, readers, for your sake and mine (mostly mine), I set out yesterday to experiment.

I did some practice runs in the morning with an original recipe, and I’m glad I did because it taught me one very important thing: be patient, and let the cones cook. I still struggled a bit with that in the evening when I made the peanut butter cones, but overall the cones turned out much better the second time around. My cone rolling technique also needs some practice, but it’s getting better. Also I don’t think I had beat the eggs and sugar enough in the first round.

Test run. They tasted better than they looked, trust me.

Peanut Butter Ice Cream Cones (adapted from Joy of Baking)

  • 2 Large eggs
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 Tablespoons peanut butter
  • 2 Tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Vegetable oil, for the pan

Take a piece of cardstock paper, shape it into a cone and tape it in place. This is going to be your cone mold later on.

With a hand mixer, whisk the eggs and sugar together until they’re frothy.

Mix in your star ingredient – peanut butter! – along with the vanilla and milk.

Then mix in the flour and salt. If the batter is a bit thick, add a little more milk.

Heat a 8 or 9 inch pan on the stove. JoB says to use medium heat, but that made the batter heat too quickly in some spots for me, so I kept the temp very low. Spray or brush a little oil onto the pan.

Scoop 3 or 4 tablespoons of batter and pour it into the pan (one of my espresso mugs was 4 T exactly- messy, but effective!). Tilt the pan around so that the batter spreads into a circle, about 6 inches wide. If the batter sits too thick, you’ll end up with more of a round pancake than a cone and it won’t be crisp all the way through.

Cook until golden brown on the underside, then flip. I had a few that started to bubble up when the first side was cooking (pan was too hot?), which would leave holes in the cone. I used a spatula to smooth out the uncooked side and seal those up.

Once the second side is golden brown, transfer the soon-to-be-cone to your work surface. For me that was a sheet of parchment paper (the kind with foil on one side, purchased by mistake), armed with my paper cone and a fork. 

Working as quickly as you can manage with the hot cone-pancake, lay your paper cone across the pancake with the point near the edge of the pancake, and roll your cone around it. I used the handle of the fork to help keep one side in place while I rolled.

Ouch!

Using the fork to keep the cone in place

If you’re lucky, the tip of your cone will fold over itself a little bit, helping to seal the bottom, like this:

Like I said earlier, my cone rolling technique is a work in progress, so not all of the cones were drip-proof. For the ones with a hole at the bottom, you can use that little trick where you pop a tiny marshmallow in the bottom to stop drips. Or you can just eat very, very quickly.

Let the cone cool on a wire rack, seam-side down (you can even leave your paper cone mold in it for now), while you make the next cone. I had enough batter for six cones.

Cooled cones!

Once the cones have cooled, top them with a couple scoops of your favorite ice cream – for us, that was chocolate with peanut butter swirl – and enjoy!

Delicious!

A few of the cones I made in the morning had softened up by evening, but according to Joy of Baking you can re-crisp them by gently unrolling and reheating them one at a time at 400 degrees for 3 or 4 min. Then you get to re-experience the fun of rolling a blazing hot ice cream cone with your bare hands!  Worth it.

Leave a Reply

