Fool Me Once, Shame on You

I’m not a huge fan of ‘celebrating’ April Fool’s Day. I feel like I have enough opportunities to make a fool of myself throughout the year without anyone else trying to help me do it.

Like most things, though, if you add food to the mix I’m much more willing to participate. And while I’m pretty sure I might initially gag if I ate something expecting the taste of berry pie but instead tasted shepherd’s pie, some of the foods-that-look-like-other-foods out there are so cute and clever that I wanted to try some myself. Keep reading to see how I made grilled cheese and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!

Unless you’re a devotee of the KFC Double Down, a sandwich just isn’t a sandwich without bread. So what looks like a loaf of bread but isn’t a loaf of bread? Pound cake! You can, of course, buy a pound cake. But what’s the fun in that?

I busted out my other Better Homes and Gardens cookbook (this one is from 1976) and worked from their Loaf Pound Cake recipe:

  • 1 1/4 cups sifted flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease the bottom of a 9x3x5 inch pan. Sift together dry ingredients and set aside. Cream the butter in an electric mixer, and gradually add the sugar. Thoroughly cream the butter and sugar (the book says to do this for at least six minutes. It even used italics, so I knew it was serious).

Add the vanilla, and beat in the eggs, one at a time. Then mix in your dry ingredients. Gently scoop the batter into your pan, and try not to make as much of a mess as I did.

Bake for about 50 minutes, until done. Cool the loaf while it’s still in the pan. Mine didn’t rise as much as I thought it should, but it still tastes great and looks very bread-like.

To begin assembling the sandwiches, cut slices of cake (a little thinner than I did if you can) to be your bread.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches: You’ll need your favorite jelly, jam or spread for your peanut butter cake sandwiches, and peanut butter cream filling (recipe below).  Assemble like a regular peanut butter and jelly sandwich (which, for the record, I don’t like. But this was delicious).

For the Peanut Butter Cream Filling (adapted from Bobby Flay)

  • 1/4 cup butter at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 5/8 cup powdered sugar (I know that looks weird. This is a half portion of Bobby’s recipe)

With an electric mixer, cream together the butter and peanut butter. Slowly add the powdered sugar, and beat until smooth.

Grilled Cheese Sandwiches: Carefully toast one side of your cake slices in a pan (okay, I used a pot because it was there) over low to medium heat. Watch them carefully, mine looked like they were doing anything for a long while and all of a sudden they were toasty and golden. Let them cool, and mix together your ‘cheese’ icing.

For the cheese, you can make your favorite vanilla frosting, or just buy a canned variety like I did. Mix in drops yellow and red food coloring until you get your desired shade of orange (my ratio was 3 yellow to 1 red). Spread on your cake slice, top with another slice.

Cheesy

If you’re looking to have some harmless fun (and it’s harmless because there’s cake!), make up some fake sandwiches for your unsuspecting friends this Sunday!

Gotcha!

One response

Leave a Reply

