Sugar and Salt Scrubs

I haven’t caved in to the “wedding day beauty regimen” hype being flung at me by all the wedding blogs and websites.  I don’t go tanning, I don’t go for regular manicures, and I have an open relationship with my gym (it’s allowed to see other people, I’m allowed to see my couch).

Right now I just have one main goal, for health as much as beauty: getting rid of dry skin. This winter has been terrible for my feet, hands and lips. My lips have been so dry that a corner of my mouth cracked. I’d pout, but it hurts. And lipstick does not look good on dry lips.

Not a 2012 wedding trend

So I’ve been using two homemade scrubs – a lip exfoliator and a foot scrub – to soften my skin, made mostly of things I had on-hand in my pantry.

Lip Exfoliator:

I mixed together a paste of about 1/2 tablespoon of sugar, and about a teaspoon each of olive oil and honey. I’ve done this a few times, and I don’t always measure. But I have noticed that too much olive oil makes the scrub too difficult to handle. 

Honey, sugar, olive oil

The scrub is meant to be  used by gently scrubbing your lips in small circles (no pictures of that – it’s not pretty, and I’d definitely get honey on my camera), then rinsing it off with warm water and a wash cloth. I only do this once a week because the skin on lips is so delicate. And I always always always follow up with a good lip product/chap stick. Right now I’m using Aquaphor Lip Repair.  It’s not fancy, but it works. 

Foot Scrub:

I start with about a cup of epsom* salt and add a few tablespoons of olive oil (2 or 3. Or just eyeball it). When I want to take the time to make the scrub smell pretty, I add a few drops of cucumber/green tea essential oil.
Epsom salt, olive oil, essential oil
I fill my bathtub with enough warm water to cover my feet and dip my feet in. Then I take a scoop of the epsom salt scrub and use a washcloth to scrub the trouble spot on my feet: my heels (you can use the scrub on your whole foot, but be gentle on the top of your foot, the skin isn’t as tough there).  I rinse my feet off, and finish by rubbing my feet with lotion. Done!

I’ve only been doing this routine for a few weeks so far but there’s a definite improvement, especially for my lips. These home remedies were so easy to put together, too. I plan on trying a few others in the near future – maybe bath tea, or homemade lotion!

*Epsom salt is more coarse than sugar. It’s too rough for the lip exfoliator, but works well for feet and hands. You can also use it for a foot soak. It’s fairly inexpensive, too. I bought this container for a couple bucks at Target.

4 responses

  1. I haven’t tried either yet, but I’ve heard that warm milk with ground oats or ground almonds makes a good facial scrub, if you don’t mind having your breakfast on your face!

  2. I bought the Aquaphor Healing Ointment last time I was sick and needed hardore relief for my chapped/flaking nostrils. I ended up smearing it all over my mouth and upper lip and couldn’t believe how much everything improved after a nyquil-induced nap. Now, I use the ointment as an overnight lip treatment (just apply a generous layer before sleep). I used to get really dry lips overnight, but not anymore!

  3. Pingback: Lace and Lemons DIY Wedding Roundup | lace and lemons

Leave a Reply

