But it Doesn’t Taste Like Apples (Oh Wait, Yes it Does.)

Readers, I’m so sorry for missing Wednesday. I did turn in the first draft of my graduate thesis, though! (I know you were worried!)  By way of consolation, I will tease that I am working on a fairly epic crafting project, but it’s a surprise for someone who reads this blog on the regular, so you’ll just have to wait. . . .

Let’s talk about breakfast shall we? I know you’re supposed to eat it every day, but man, I find that difficult. Usually I end up grabbing some sort of fake meal bar as I run out the door.  But on days when nothing is going on, or when I get up unexpectedly early, I really love breakfast. It’s just awesome. All warm and inviting and “good morning.” Mmm.

So the other day when my early morning babysitting gig canceled, I decided I had earned some breakfasty goodness. But I only wanted to use what I had on hand which wasn’t much, and I really didn’t want cold cereal, because blah.  So I whipped together some maple apple oatmeal. You guys, this was amazing. The warm, filling goodness of oatmeal with the sweet crunchiness of apple? Killer.

The first thing I did was make some oatmeal just using the directions on the box. My thoughts on oatmeal: Don’t get sucked into instant oatmeal. It’s never as good (I always find it gluey) and it takes like, five minutes more to make real oatmeal. Plus it’s so so so good for you.

Magic Food.

I boiled one cup of water (with a little salt in there for flavor) and then added one cup of oats. Boom. Oatmeal. At this point, you can do almost anything you want with oatmeal. Yet another reason why it’s so awesome.

I had an apple in the fridge that seemed to be on its last legs, so I decided to go with an apple bread type of flavor.  I added about a tablespoon of maple syrup (I think organic tastes best, but use whatever you have or like), a teaspoon of vanilla, and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Flavor Town.

Then I chopped up the apple and some walnuts I had lying around (guys, a stocked pantry and a willingness to play around are the secrets to awesome cooking) and threw all that in and gave it a stir.

I am one of those people who likes milk on her oatmeal. In fact, I am largely unwilling to eat oatmeal otherwise. Instead of regular milk, though, I used some almond milk I had. . . The sweet nuttiness was a really nice compliment to the apple and maple flavor. I highly recommend almond milk if you have some dairy issues or if you just want a change of pace. It’s delightful.

Almond-azing.

And then I enjoyed my awesome healthy breakfast. This entire process took me maybe ten minutes and it was so so satisfying. One note: This is filling as heck. Oatmeal is really filling anyway, and then with the apple and milk and nuts, it was just a lot of fiber and protein. I couldn’t quite finish it, so make your portions accordingly.

So SO SO SOOOO Good.

 

 

Leave a Reply

